Friday Playlist: Skerik

http://8tracks.com/mixes/3584378/player_v3_universal

PopHeartEtc. – Friday Mar 7 from PopHeartEtc.com on 8tracks Radio.

Skerik is a madman on the sax. The first time I saw him, he was playing with Les Claypool’s Frog Brigade, and he was dressed up in full “devil” regalia. He mostly plays tenor, often pulling what he calls “saxophonics” out of his immense bag of tricks. He can lead or lay in the cut. He’s played in all manner of bands, fronting Skerik’s Syncopated Taint Septet and helping shape the wonderful weirdness that is Garage a Trois. He also made Stanton Moore’s solo career by lending his chops on Moore’s first two records. Critters Buggin, Tuatara, The Dead Kenny G’s, Bobby Previte, Medeski, Martin, and Wood, and many others have shared the stage and studio with this crazy genius.

2 thoughts on “Friday Playlist: Skerik

  1. Admittedly I’ve never listened to this before and now as I am I have to say I am digging it, man. Little known fact about me…I played alto sax (horribly) in Jazz Band back in HS and as a result am a sucker for all things sax. I am going to have to dig deeper into his catalog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

